If you are reading this, then you probably already have a good idea of the events of my summer. On June 30th, the hubby and I were out on our “hoosier” boat enjoying some time together. We arrived at a cutout embankment that Jeremy wanted to fish from and climbed out of the boat. I always love climbing to the tops of embankments just to see the land. The view was gorgeous! Then my risk-taking other half decided he wanted to jump off into the water. I asked him several times not to do it as I am not much for risk taking myself! You know how the story ends. He assured me it was fine and took the leap. Since the ground was dirt he had to jump before he got to the edge to avoid slipping. A blind leap. Hmmm….I will come back to that in a minute. The end result was not what I had planned. As his head popped out of the water he casually, yes casually, replied he had broken his legs. One choice. Summer over. Vacation plans ruined.

The five days in the hospital were brutal. Pain management was the biggest issue. Seeing my husband in such pain was heartbreaking. The other possible outcomes flashed through my head. When I closed my eyes to sleep I would see him jumping. So often we look at extreme events like this in our lives and ask why. When you spend your time questioning God you fail to learn. You do not see your blessings. Heartbreak and resentment then become your friend. I have been down that path far too often in my life and they are not good companions. When I finally stepped back with a clear mind I could only see God’s hand at work. Yes, our plans for the summer were dramatically altered, but our plans were nothing of importance in the grand scheme of things. So my toes did not get to feel the sand between them and I am far more pale than I planned, but what I got in return was far greater.

Jeremy and I spent almost every hour together for 4 weeks. Some of you might cringe at the thought of spending that much time with your significant other! Every couple argues and we were not exempt from that, but we did not argue during that four weeks. Though we were together longer than we had ever been, we got along better than we had in a long time. I hate to get mushy, but I feel like we are newlyweds again. (Cue the eye rolls!) We have laughed more and smiled more. We have become more tender with one another. All of this arose from a jump that seemed to doom our summer. Granted I would prefer that Jeremy was not hurt and his recovery is still far from over, but in a way, I would not trade this past month for anything. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary during the midst of this trial and I feel giddy with excitement over the bond we have as a result. Our plans changed, but God had better ones in store. How often do I get upset because God’s plans do not match what I wanted in the time frame that I wanted? This accident just proves His ways are so much greater than mine. As I reflect on the last 5 weeks, I think I can say I trust God more now than I did before it happened. We need to, I need to, have faith in God and the plans He has for us/me. I told you I would come back to the “blind leap” comment. That is what faith is, a blind leap. We do not know what the future holds, but we know who holds the future. When we leap we may seemingly come up short, but God will pull us through. He is the hand that is always there, we just have to grab hold. And when we do, we can be more than conquerors!

